Oklahoma Republicans elect new leaders

Dave Weston, of Lexington, a former finance director for the Oklahoma Republican Party and who worked on two innovative congressional campaigns, was elected to lead the state GOP. Sara Jo Odom was elected vice chairman.

By Michael McNutt | Published: April 21, 2013

Oklahoma Republicans went Saturday with the contender who has a proven track record of raising money for the state party and being involved with successful campaigns over one who is better known for opposing illegal immigration, the Affordable Care Act and the United Nations Agenda 21 sustainable development action plan.

About 61.3 percent of the votes cast for chairman by the 1,222 delegates attending the Oklahoma Republican State Convention went to Dave Weston, who works for an investment advisory firm. Amanda Teegarden, co-founder and executive director of the nonprofit Oklahomans for Sovereignty and Free Enterprise, Inc, won 38.7 percent of the votes cast.

Weston, of Lexington, will succeed Matt Pinnell, who has served the past three years as chairman.

Read more…